Public-vote book and author contests in Greece: what is on offer and how entries are ranked
Book and author contests in Greece that take public votes are, in the reports this page cites, the Public Book Awards. In 2025 each reader had one vote per category in both reader-voting phases. The 2023 first phase passed 100,000 votes, and the 2026 first phase ran until 17 May 2026. The reports name no other book or author contest in Greece with public voting, and they give no organiser beyond the awards themselves.
Rechecked on 21 October 2026.
The Public Book Awards split the vote into timed phases
The reports describe reader voting in phases, and each phase carries its own dates. The 2023 second phase ran from 5 to 19 June, the 2025 second phase from 6 to 22 June, and the 2026 first phase until 17 May. Those are the only voting windows the reports give, so they are the only ones this page states.
A reader who wants the window for a given year has to look up that year's phase separately, because one edition's dates do not carry over to the next. The reports give no window for a 2025 first phase and none for a 2026 second phase, so neither is stated here.
The 2023 first phase passed 100,000 votes, which is the only turnout figure in the reports. A reader should treat it as one year's total rather than as a trend, since no other edition's first-phase count appears alongside it.
- The 2026 first reader phase ran until 17 May 2026, as reported.
- The 2025 second reader phase ran from 6 to 22 June 2025.
- The 2023 second reader phase ran from 5 to 19 June 2023.
- The 2023 first reader phase passed 100,000 votes.
- Each phase carries its own dates, so one year's window does not carry over.
One vote per category for each reader, in both phases
The rule the reports state for 2025 is one vote per reader per category, and it holds across both reader-voting phases of that edition. The count is kept by category, so a reader who votes in several categories casts one vote in each, and never two in the same one.
The reports state that rule for 2025 only. They do not say whether the 2023 or 2026 editions used the same limit, so a reader should check the current year's terms before assuming the limit still applies.
A per-category limit says what a reader may cast, but it does not say how a phase checks that each reader cast only one vote. The reports leave that check out, and the limit should be read as a stated rule, not as a described safeguard.
- The 2025 rule allowed each reader one vote per category.
- That limit applied in both reader-voting phases of 2025.
- The reports state the per-category limit for 2025 only.
- Category is the unit the limit counts, not the reader's total.
- The reports do not say how each phase checks that limit.
Phase one fixes the categories for phase two
The 2023 first phase passed 100,000 votes and set the categories for the second phase. The reports describe that as a single step, so the first phase works as a filter on which categories readers are asked to vote on next.
A reader comparing the two phases should keep the first phase's count separate from the second, because the reports give the first phase's total and no combined figure. Adding the two together would produce a number the reports never state.
Who decides which categories move forward is not stated in the reports, so the page does not name the body that makes that choice. The step is documented as a result of phase one, not as a decision by any named person.
- The 2023 first reader phase set the categories for the second phase.
- Phase one and phase two are reported as separate steps.
- The reports do not say who chooses the categories for the second phase.
- A combined total across both phases is not given in the reports.
- Count each phase on its own when reading a published result.
The reports name the Public Book Awards as the contest
The reports name one contest, the Public Book Awards, and they name the outlets that reported it: Parapolitika.gr, Travel.gr and Cnn.gr. Those three outlets cover different editions, and all three use the same contest name.
The reports do not name a separate body that runs the awards, a jury, or a rulebook publisher. A reader who needs the organiser beyond the contest name should look for the awards' own published terms, because a news report summarises those terms and can lag behind them.
Organiser questions in this cluster have a short answer for the awards: one contest name, carried by three outlets, and no separate organising body in the material. The page does not add a body that the reports leave out.
- The reports name the Public Book Awards as the contest throughout.
- Parapolitika.gr, Travel.gr and Cnn.gr all report the same contest name.
- No separate organising body appears in these reports.
- The reports name no jury for the reader phases.
- A news summary of a rulebook can lag behind the rulebook itself.
The reports say nothing on fake votes or disqualification
Three objections a reader brings to a contest like this are fake votes, legality and disqualification, and the reports answer none of them directly. They give a per-category limit and a phase structure, which are rules, not checks.
The reports do not describe how the awards detect duplicate or fake votes, whether a reader vote falls under Greek law, or what happens to an entry that breaks the one-vote rule. This page cannot say, and a reader should not infer an answer from the silence.
For a question on any of these three, the awards' own published terms are the place to look, and the page points there rather than guessing. Where those terms are not in the reports, the answer stays open.
- The reports do not say how duplicate or fake votes are spotted.
- Legality of a reader vote under Greek law is not covered in these reports.
- Disqualification for breaking the one-vote rule is not described.
- The one-vote limit is a rule the reports state, not a check they describe.
- Look to the awards' own terms for any disqualification clause they contain.
Rules that apply
The page covers book and author contests in Greece where readers vote, which in the reports this page cites means the Public Book Awards. Each rule is credited to the outlet that reported it, and no rule is carried over to a different edition. The reports were checked against their sources and reviewed on 21 October 2026, and each date given here is the one those reports state. Gaps in the coverage are stated where they arise, and the page adds no detail from outside the reports.
What we decline
The page does not name any Greek book or author contest beyond the Public Book Awards, and it does not rank the awards against anything else. It cannot say whether a reader vote is lawful in Greece, whether an entry that breaks the one-vote rule is disqualified, or how fake votes are caught, because the reports are silent on all three. Dates for editions the reports do not list are not stated, and no winner, placing or vote count is predicted here. Questions about a particular edition belong with the awards' own published terms, which this page never replaces.
Questions and answers
The reports name one: the Public Book Awards, which run a reader vote in phases, with the 2023, 2025 and 2026 editions each dated in the coverage. Reader votes are the awards' own mechanism, and the reports give one vote per reader per category as its limit. The reports do not name any other book or author contest in Greece with public voting, so this page names no other.
The reports credit the Public Book Awards as the contest, and name Parapolitika.gr, Travel.gr and Cnn.gr as the outlets that reported its voting dates. They name no separate organising body, jury or rulebook publisher for the awards. A reader who needs the organiser beyond the contest name should check the awards' own published terms.
In the Public Book Awards, votes are counted in reader-voting phases, and in 2025 each reader had one vote per category in each phase. The 2023 first phase passed 100,000 votes and set the categories for the second phase, so the count runs in steps rather than in one total. The reports give no formula for combining phases, and they do not describe how each vote is recorded.
The reports give dates for some phases only. The 2026 first phase ran until 17 May 2026, the 2025 second phase ran from 6 to 22 June 2025, and the 2023 second phase ran from 5 to 19 June 2023. The reports give no opening date for the 2026 first phase and no dates for a 2025 first phase, so this page states neither. A reader planning around a future edition has to wait for that edition's own dates.
The reports do not state who may enter or vote, beyond the one-vote-per-category limit for 2025. They say nothing about author age, publication status, residency or other entry requirements, so none of those is stated here. Eligibility for a given edition belongs in the awards' own terms, and this page cannot confirm them.
The reports describe the one-vote-per-category limit and nothing that detects fake votes. Separate phase counts exist, but the reports do not say what the organiser checks on them. This page cannot say what is checked or how, and it does not treat the limit as proof of a clean count.